Type to search

Latest news

Atlanta Press Club to honor winners of 2022 ‘Awards of Excellence’

In this photo from Decaturish/Tucker Observer photographer Dean Hesse's award-winning essay about Stone Mountain's Shermantown community, Elaine Vaughn holds a copy of a photograph of the Shermantown community’s semi-pro baseball team, the “Hard Rocks.” Her father Charlie Stewart is 2nd from right on the first row. Rev. William Woodson Morris, Sr. the only living member is at the end of the row to Stewart’s left. The date of the photo is possibly 1954. The team was organized in 1946. (Republished with permission.)

By John Ruch

The Atlanta Press Club (APC) has named the winners of its 2022 “Awards of Excellence” for journalism created last year.

The contest was judged by members of the Los Angeles Press Club. An event celebrating the winners, open to both members and non-members, is scheduled for Aug. 8 at the Gathering Spot.

The list of winners is below. For more about their work, see the APC website.

  • Arts & Culture: Heather Buckner and Kelundra Smith, Atlanta Magazine
  • Digital News: Zulekha Nathoo, BBC Worklife
  • Documentary/Series: Andy Pierrotti, 11Alive/WXIA
  • Investigative Reporting: Kristin Crowley, 11Alive/WXIA
  • Podcasting: Zulekha Nathoo, Feet in 2 Worlds
  • Print News: Kelly Yamanouchi, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • TV Reporting: Jon Nelson, Georgia Public Broadcasting Sports
  • Radio News: Molly Samuel, WABE 90.1 FM
  • Reporting on Civil and Human Rights: Michelle Birnbaum and Brian Kucinski, The Weather Channel
  • Narrative Nonfiction: The Weather Channel
  • Photo Essay: Dean Hesse, Decaturish/Tucker Observer
  • Use of Sound: Emil Moffatt, WABE 90.1 FM
  • Single Image Photo: John Spink, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • News Innovation Award: Atlanta Magazine
  • The Rising Star Award: Riley Bunch, Georgia Public Broadcasting

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.