Type to search

Latest news Main Slider Maria Saporta

Metro Atlanta Chamber puts new leadership team in place

Metro Atlanta Chamber

Metro Atlanta Chamber building on July 4, 2015 (Photo: Maria Saporta)

By Maria Saporta

The Metro Atlanta Chamber announced several key leadership changes – both on its executive staff and its volunteer roles. The changes were announced at the Chamber’s executive committee meeting Thursday morning.

They are as follows:

  • Scott Higley has been hired as the senior vice president of marketing and communications;
  • Janice Rys has been promoted to chief development officer; and
  • David Hartnett has been promoted to the senior vice president of economic development.

These leadership changes reflect a restructuring of key positions since the departure of Brian McGowan, who was serving as the Chamber’s chief operating officer and in charge of its economic development initiatives. McGowan has since joined the Dentons law firm.

Metro Atlanta Chamber

Metro Atlanta Chamber building on July 4, 2015 (Photo: Maria Saporta)

“MAC is in a unique position to capitalize on the strength and experience of a highly capable leadership team to support our continued strong performance and commitment to the region,” said Hala Moddelmog, the Chamber’s president and CEO. “I’m confident that the changes we announced today will continue to help us grow the region, attract talent and secure jobs.”

Higley joins the Chamber after more than six years overseeing marketing, communications, and community and government affairs for the Georgia Aquarium. As the senior vice president, he will lead the marketing and communications efforts for the Chamber and and ChooseATL. ChooseATL is a marketing campaign launched last year to retain and recruit young talent to the region.

Rys, chief development officer, will expand her current role to lead Chamber’s membership development efforts and be responsible for overseeing and coordinating all revenue generation for the organization – growing its investor base; cultivating relationships with investors, the board, and prospective investors; providing strategic leadership and planning for future development needs.

Hartnett has most recently been serving as the vice president of economic development and industry expansion. Hartnett led the team focused on strengthening relationships within the Chamber’s targeted economic clusters: bioscience-health IT, technology, mobility, supply-chain and clean tech.

Hartnett will join the senior leadership team and oversee all of the Chamber’s economic development efforts, but also continue to focus on industry expansion.

Along with the new senior leadership team in place, the Chamber’s 2016 Chair Jenner Wood, corporate executive vice president of SunTrust Bank, announced that the business organization has also secured its board chair-elects for 2017 and 2018. The 2017 chair-elect is Jeffrey Sprecher, president and CEO of InterContinental Exchange and Chairman of the New York Stock Exchange.

The 2018 chair will be Glenn Lurie, president and CEO of AT&T Mobility. Lurie assumes the 2018 chair-elect position taking the spot of Ralph de la Vega, who recently was promoted to vice chairman of AT&T.

The following 2016 board members were appointed to serve as chairs of the following MAC Councils and Committees:

  • Atlanta Sports Council: Ron Rogowski, vice president of Global Brand & Sponsorship for UPS;
  • Bioscience Leadership Council: Robert Hendricks, senior vice president, chief information officer and chief technology officer for ,McKesson Technology Solutions;
  • Economic Development Committee: Mike Donnelly, president to the Atlanta Region and the Atlanta Community Bank for Wells Fargo;
  • Educated Workforce Committee: Shan Cooper, chief supply chain and technology officer for WestRock Co.;
  • Global Commerce Council: Reggie Walker, market managing partner of PwC;
  • Infrastructure Committee: David Allman, founder and chairman of Regent Partners;
  • Innovation & Entrepreneurship Advisory Council: Mark Becker, president of Georgia State University; and Jeffrey C. Sprecher, chairman and CEO, Intercontinental Exchange and chairman of the New York Stock Exchange;
  • Investor Relations Committee: Jenner Wood, Corporate Executive Vice President, SunTrust Bank
  • MAC PAC: Hank Linginfelter, executive vice president of distribution operations for AGL Resources;
  • Mobility Leadership Council: Michael Zeto, general manager and executive director of Smart Cities for AT&T Mobility;
  • Mobility Task Force: Glenn Lurie, president and CEO of AT&T Mobility;
  • Public Policy Advisory Board: Richard Dugas, chairman, president and CEO of PulteGroup;
  • Supply Chain Leadership Council: Mark Wallace, senior vice president of Global Engineering and Sustainability for UPS;
  • Technology Leadership Council: David Cummings, CEO of Atlanta Ventures and founder of Atlanta Tech Village;
  • Young + Restless Committee: Fred Roselli, senior director of communications for the Boys and Girls Club of America.
Maria Saporta

Maria Saporta, Editor, is a longtime Atlanta business, civic and urban affairs journalist with a deep knowledge of our city, our region and state.  Since 2008, she has written a weekly column and news stories for the Atlanta Business Chronicle. Prior to that, she spent 27 years with The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, becoming its business columnist in 1991. Maria received her Master’s degree in urban studies from Georgia State and her Bachelor’s degree in journalism from Boston University. Maria was born in Atlanta to European parents and has two young adult children.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.