Type to search

Thought Leader Transit



The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) Police Department held its annual awards ceremony on May 10th at the James H. “Sloppy” Floyd Building in Atlanta.

MPD held the ceremony in conjunction with National Law Enforcement Officer Memorial Week. As always, it is a time of reflection for members of the MARTA Police Department as they remember one of their own, Micah Corey Brown, who died after being hit by a drunk driver on Oct. 25, 2003.

Medals were awarded to the following officers: Sgt. De’Antoine Johnson, Supervisor of the Year; Det. Darrius Jackson, Top Shooter; Det. Demetris Garmon, Detective of the Year; and Officer Keith Softley, Officer of the Year.

“The annual awards ceremony is an opportunity for us to recognize the MARTA Police employees who went above and beyond the call of duty,” said MARTA Chief of System Safety, Security & Emergency Management Wanda Y. Dunham. “We also recognize other MARTA employees and supporters, including everyday citizens, for their achievements and success throughout the year.”

MPD also awarded Citations for Meritorious Service, Chief’s Awards, Civilian Awards, and Lifesaving Awards.


This is the "wpengine" admin user that our staff uses to gain access to your admin area to provide support and troubleshooting. It can only be accessed by a button in our secure log that auto generates a password and dumps that password after the staff member has logged in. We have taken extreme measures to ensure that our own user is not going to be misused to harm any of our clients sites.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.